Category 4 entry by Dixie – Pattern B20-053

Here is my entry for Category 4 – Eva Dress as modern wear. I chose
the B20-53 1928 blouse pattern. I admit I’m pretty smitten with
Boardwalk Empire and later Downton Abbey fashions.

The pattern was in my size but I made a few minor changes – I lowered
the neckline by about an inch and widened it at each shoulder by about
an inch because it was pretty snug when I made the muslin. Maybe 1920s
French ladies had tiny necks, I don’t know. I also left out the button
hole for the ties so that I could just tie it or maybe put a small
fancy pin right there.

This was only the second time I ever worked with charmeuse and I’m
pretty proud of myself for not going crazy trying to sew it. Basting
helped! The fabric is a white (hard to photograph) stonewashed
charmeuse that is oh so soft! I lined the whole top with nude China
silk because the white was a little see-through. This was my first
time using China silk. Because I was concentrating so hard on cutting
out my pieces without shifting the charmuse I forgot to add a hem
allowance, oops! Instead I made a bottom band out of extra fabric. I
think it works.

I think the design of this top works with several modern trends –
oversized loose tops, dolman sleeves and neck tie bows! I could even
make another version and incorporate color blocking with the cool
seaming.

Speaking of seaming, it is hard to see from far away but I top
stitched the front and back seams both to help tack down the
allowances and to add some extra interest.

I can dress up this top by tucking it into a sleek pencil skirt or
dress it down in colorful jeans (another trend right now) and flats!

Thanks!
-Dixie
http://dixiediy.com

 

Gallery | This entry was posted in 2012 EvaDress Pattern Contest - Category 4. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Category 4 entry by Dixie – Pattern B20-053

  1. evadress says:

    This entry is from pattern B20-053

Leave a Reply

